Eugène Cuvelier

Here is another 19th Century French find from Luminous Lint. I remember there being quite a few Cuveliers at AIPAD this year. Unfortuately, I was in a little rush this year, and I didn’t get to spend as much time looking as I have in the past.

Here is a particuarly beautiful one from Fontainebleau.

6324_std1.jpg

Eugène Cuvelier
The Forest of Fontainebleau
Salted paper print from glass negative 1860s (early)
19.8 x 25.8 cm (7 13/16 x 10 3/16 in.)

I photographed in Fontainebleau for one afternoon when I was in France last year for Paris Photo. I am considering taking my 8×10 if I go again this year.

About Richard Boutwell

I am an emerging photographer originally from the Hi-Desert of Southern California, and relocated to Bucks County, Pennsylvania in 2002 for an intensive apprenticeship with the photographers Michael A. Smith and Paula Chamlee. I now live in Philadelphia, and concentrate on my own projects and writing.
This entry was posted in Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Eugène Cuvelier

  1. J Alan says:

    It is a beautiful image. The subtle highlights captured in the leaves on the wooded path, the fog and mist creating a surreal evanescence of the trees to it’s foreground. Beautiful tonal range for a 19th century print. There is a feeling of calmness and tension at once.

    (Makes me want to drag out my old Deardorff)
    Thanks for sharing and good luck when you go to France.

    J Alan

Leave a Reply

