Project Basho

I have been printing in the darkroom at Philadelphia’s Project Basho for the last few weeks. Maybe the best advantages of using a communal darkroom are the people you meet, and the variety of things you are exposed to. There is an informal critique this Sunday (August 5th), and in addition to holding small classes and workshops, there will soon be a space for exhibitions, film screenings, and rental studio space.

Earlier this week, Tsuyoshi was showing two short videos of James Nachtwey and Edward Burtynsky giving their TED Prize acceptance speeches, which until then, I had not seen. Seeing Burtynsky’s talk reminded me that I still need to see the film, Manufactured Landscapes, by Jennifer Baichwal . Maybe I can make time for it next week . . .

About Richard Boutwell

I am an emerging photographer originally from the Hi-Desert of Southern California, and relocated to Bucks County, Pennsylvania in 2002 for an intensive apprenticeship with the photographers Michael A. Smith and Paula Chamlee. I now live in Philadelphia, and concentrate on my own projects and writing.
This entry was posted in Philadelphia, Photography, Photography Events. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Project Basho

  1. Al For says:

    Hi Rich,

    I thoroughly enjoyed your web site.

    albfor

Leave a Reply

