Paris Photo Recap, part 1

So, guess who forgot the digital camera and European power adapter for the laptop?

Because of the strikes, Paris was more of a crazy adventure than in the past. Nearly missed planes and trains, more walking than I’ve ever done in my life, long bus lines, shared cabs, and mountain biking with an 8×10 camera . . . this actually might be the most memorable year yet.

The fair, however, was something of a let down. I swear if I see another oversized color print I am going to puke. Luckily, I could take refuge in the few gallery booths showing some excellent 19th century work. One print, a gravure on silk , stood out the most, but there were several others worth posting in more detail when I have the chance.

About Richard Boutwell

I am an emerging photographer originally from the Hi-Desert of Southern California, and relocated to Bucks County, Pennsylvania in 2002 for an intensive apprenticeship with the photographers Michael A. Smith and Paula Chamlee. I now live in Philadelphia, and concentrate on my own projects and writing.
This entry was posted in Art, Photography, Photography Events. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

